A Collaborative Blog: Winter Carnaval

IMG_4897

The Pathfinder & Ranger winter trip to Carnaval in Québec City got off to a rough start as the snowstorm keep us back one night. On a positive note, however, it meant an extra hot shower and a good night’s sleep in our own beds… (Jennifer)

The girls and leaders started their journey on a very cold Saturday morning. We had girls from different districts. Some had met on other provincial trips or at summer camp. For others, it was their first time with any of the others. The roads were very clear and it took us 31/2 hours to reach Québec City… (Helena)

After arriving, we settled into our hall super quickly and efficiently — it was impressive. Carnival passes were handed out, girls and Guides geared up and off they went into the cold for lunch and their personal winter Carnaval adventure. (Olivia)

Even though the temperature was truly frigid, the girls were very enthusiastic and walked from venue to venue without complaint. Many even braved the cold a second time after supper to catch the parade. (Kathy)

Hats felt like the theme for the day as almost everyone got a new one. The most popular colour combination was pink and white, but there were also red and black, some with ear flaps and some without…all with pompoms! (Caitlyn)

84657064_10163341097720508_3143658242375155712_o

I found my new favourite restaurant for poutine. The hot chocolate was delicious and the beavertail was excellent. (Annsophy)

We walked a lot in the cold but we made some discoveries. I mostly liked visiting the ice hotel and walking around. (Catou)

I met new people and had sooooo much fun walking around the city. I got to see Québec in a wonderful atmosphere.The tubing and the ice hotel were definitely my favourite part. (Kate)

I had the most amazing time ever! I loved the fact that we were free to explore the Carnaval with our friends and enjoy the very very cold festival at our own pace. Also, the tubing was thrilling and the sugar shack was to die for! Thank you to all the organizers of this trip: I would redo it anytime! (Zoé)

This weekend has been a blast! Despite the weather and waiting for the roads to clear. The weather cooperated and didn’t send us any more snow — just a nice chill. It was a successful trip. (Vicki)

85073806_10159380098242598_4335192344786632704_o

We had an amazing group of girls and Guiders to travel with. Tobogganing on the slide in front of Chateau Frontenac was fantastic under the Snow Moon. And the maple sugar on snow was a hit both days! (Joan)

This weekend was one to remember. We did many things, but my favourite had to be the tobogganing after sunset. We had sugar on snow as well. Some might say I had too many, but I say I had just the right amount! (Julianna)

I love meeting and reconnecting with new and old friends. I got to hear so many cool stories. I loved going to the Carnaval and exploring the city. (Evelyn)

This weekend was my first time in Québec City and Girl Guides really helped make it special for me. I had such a fun time exploring the streets with my group. It cool getting to see the awesome parade they had last night — there was combo of fire and ice. But I also got to meet nice people everywhere I went like in a small local cafe where we met an old Girl Scout leader from Vermont. And I especially enjoy seeing the ice castle. Needless to say that this weekend is one that I will definitely remember and I would love to come back again next year! (Kristin)

This weekend started off strong with my first time at the winter Carnaval in Québec City. There were so many different things to do and I enjoyed them all. I was amazed by the parade at the end and the people walking on stilts while holding fire! Tubbing was such fun and the ice hotel was stunning. (Sandra)

IMG_4893

There was a lot of laughing and playing in the snow and inside. Even after we left and went tubing it was still fun and the ice hotel was beautiful. I think that all of us had a great time at the sugar shack. (Abigail)

This trip was the first trip I did with my Ranger unit and I made some awesome memories with the girls. I met some friends I knew from Snow Trails or from summer camp at Wa-Thik-Ane. I loved the carnival and the free tuques! My favourite thing would definitely be the Ice Hotel. It was so beautiful and worth my great photography skills. The tubing was scary for me since I was afraid of heights, but I still enjoyed the funny moments that happened. Even if we lost a day, I think we did everything we needed to do in the time we had. (Amy)

We got to do so much in just two days. I would definitely do this again because it was a great experience. I met new people, I got to learn how to throw an axe at the carnival, and I faced my fears by going on this tube slide I was afraid of. (Sarah)

I was not sure about going on this trip but as soon as I got settled in, I felt better. Everything we did was fun and interesting. We never had nothing to do! The food was really good and the Carnaval was lots of fun. I wasn’t sure about tubing either but once I went down my first run I knew that it would be lots of fun! The ice hotel was breathtaking! (Lauren)

This was my 2nd time on this trip and I was worried that it would be too repetitive. As it turns out, nothing in Girl Guides can be repeated! The number of new people and new adventures that happened on this trip cannot be counted. (Emily)

The experiences and great people I met will never go forgotten. It was definitely well planned and executed! (Melanie)

85214150_10159380098632598_2827720753024073728_o

Everything from the people to the food to the different activities we did was amazing. I wouldn’t have prefered to have done anything else with my weekend — no matter how cold it was. I loved the freedom that the leaders gave us and I loved all the little things we got to experience. (Emily)

We particularly loved getting to explore the ice hotel with all the funky rooms and Tubing. Seeing the Château Frontenac with all the snow around it was beautiful. This trip was a great opportunity to spend time with friends we generally don’t get to see outside of our meetings. It was also so much fun getting to meet and talk to other members. (Cassandra and Gemma)

I loved this trip! It gave me an amazing little break from the stress of exams to explore a city we had heard about in every single one of our textbooks. I got to see Carnaval which I’ve heard about for years now and got to experience a more touristy yet super exciting side of my province! (Dylan)

It was a great way to enjoy the beautiful snow and weather. I haven’t been to Quebec City in 10 years and this trip brought back all the amazing memories I had and allowed me to make so many more. (Emma)

I haven’t been on a Girl Guide trip in two years. Carnival was the best way to start up again. As a first-year Ranger, the freedom to walk around and see everything that we girls wanted to see was new, but it was a relief not to be followed 24/7. (Madeleine)

86272646_10159380097717598_4575907742555832320_o

The weekend was amazing and I loved exploring Québec City. I ended up meeting one of the sculptors for the ice hotel. (Brianna)

This trip was one of the best trips I’ve gone on in my Guiding years. We got to see and explore stuff pretty much on our own. Tubing was super fun, especially the “Everest” slide. It got cold when I wasn’t moving, but I survived. (Rebecca)

It was an awesome experience with a great group. I still learn so much from these amazing young women. I am glad to have shared in the many memories and laughs with them. We may have been cold and tired, but I’m sure glad I came. This blogging feels like a virtual Guides’ Own. (Loretta)

The girls and leaders showed us how they could endure freezing cold temperatures but still enjoy winter in Quebec! They proved the Carnaval slogan was true! « PLUS FORT QUE LE FRETTE » . (Chary Hyndman & Daphne Sauvé)

84689289_10159380098327598_7454387497120825344_o

About Girl Guides of Canada - Guides du Canada - QUÉBEC

Le blogue officiel des Guides du Canada - Conseil du Québec. The official blog of the Girl Guides of Canada - Quebec Council.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A Collaborative Blog: Winter Carnaval

  1. oliviaane says:

    LOVE!

Commentaires - Comments