A Little Girl’s Heart (or a Big Girl!)

It’s been a bit quiet around here over the summer, but we’re back in action and ready to share more fantastic stories about Guiding in Québec!

To get things started, here are a few touching words for all of our wonderful Guiders and volunteers – who most likely don’t get thanked often enough for all they do to make a difference in the lives of girls.

(Thanks to our Guiders in Des Montérégiennes district for sharing!)

A Little Girl’s Heart (or a Big Girl!)

 

‘’I must be crazy, I’m out of my mind.’’

I say this every week before meeting time.

»Four will show up and eight will not call.

I really don’t know why I do this at all.

We make plans for camp.

Two nights and three days.

It takes them an hour to choose grape Kool-Aid!

Not worth it. I think. Do they care. I ask ?

It’s just what I need one more thankless task.

Then one of them smiles and rolls out the dough.

‘’My mother won’t let me bake cookies, you know.’’

We mop up the paint. And I hear from one.

‘’Let’s do it again I had so much fun’’.

The first time away in tents in the rain.

One hugs me and says ‘’I’m so glad I came’’.

So when I feel low and ask myself ‘’why?’’

I try to picture the look in that eye.

The grin on that face, that one homemade card.

A leader’s reward – a little girl’s heart.

—Author unknown

About Girl Guides of Canada - Guides du Canada - QUÉBEC

Le blogue officiel des Guides du Canada - Conseil du Québec. The official blog of the Girl Guides of Canada - Quebec Council.
This entry was posted in Leadership, Uncategorized, Volunteering and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Commentaires - Comments

